Department Commander

Denny Brenden of Watertown, SD

Denny Brenden of Watertown, SD

The American Legion, Department of South Dakota, Commander


Department Vice Commander

Ed Thompson Districts 1 & 2

Ed Thompson | Districts 1 & 2


Department Vice Commander

Ed Stringer Vice Commander

Ed Stringer | Districts 3,4,5,6,7 and 8

Department Officers

Travise Flisrand State Adjutant

Travise Flisrand


Gene Opbroek State Membership Chairman

Gene Opbroek


Jim Huls NEC

Jim Huls

National Executive Committeeman

Larry Klum State Chaplain

Larry Klumb


Gary Wolkow Department Finance Officer

Gary Wolkow

Finance Officer

Fred Lee State Historian

Fred Lee


Larry Madsen State Americanism Officer

Larry Madsen

Americanism Officer

Verle Whipple State Sergeant-at-Arms

Verle Whipple


Miranda Krumm Children and Youth Chairperson

Miranda Krumm

Children and Youth

Courtney VanZanten, Service Officer

Courtney VanZanten

Service Officer

District Commanders

David Booze, District 1 Commander

David Booze

District 1 Commander
Butte, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Corson, Dewey, Perkins, and Ziebach

Eugene Ironshell, Jr. District 2 Commander

Eugene Ironshell, Jr.

District 2 Commander
Bennett, Haakon, Jackson, Jones, Mellette, Todd, Custer, Fall River, Pennington, and Oglala Lakota

LeRoy Madsen, District 3 Commander.

LeRoy Madsen

District 3 Commander
Hughes, Hyde, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Gregory, Lyman, Tripp, and Hand

Perry Schmidt, District 4 Commander

Perry Schmidt

District 4 Commander
Brown, Campbell, Edmunds, McPherson, Walworth, Spink, and Faulk

Matt Lagerstrom, District 5 Commander

Matt Lagerstrom

District 5 Commander
Day, Grant, Marshall, Roberts, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Hamlin, and Brookings

Doug Feltman, District 6 Commander

Doug Feltman

District 6 Commander
Beadle, Kingsbury, Miner, Aurora, Brule, Buffalo, Davison, Hanson, Jerauld, and Sanborn

Rod Smith, District 7 Commander

Rod Smith

District 7 Commander
Lake, Moody, McCook, Lincoln, Union, and Minnehaha

Greg Geiman, District 8 Commander

Greg Geiman

District 8 Commander
Turner, Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Clay, Douglas, Hutchinson, and Yankton